Sage on the stage to guide on the side

In a Project Based Learning environment the role of the teacher becomes very different. This is a disconcerting thing for some, and even in my case where I am not uncomfortable stepping back, I know I still have some room to grow. Below are some reflections that I have on the topic of stepping back and facilitating learning in a classroom rather than being the central disseminator of knowledge.

  • Will my role in the teaching/learning process change?
    • I think this is undoubtedly the case when you ask students to learn in a PBL environment. No longer is the teacher giving as much direct instruction, especially to large groups of students. When direct instruction does take place it is often more directed at small groups of students at a time when they most need it. A big part of the role of a teacher in a PBL environment is to help students learn how to be part of a collaborative team too. This skill doesn’t just occur without practice. Helping students learn to resolve disputes, organize together, and take on responsibility is all key in the process of teaching in a PBL environment. The role of feedback changes in this model of teaching as well. No longer is the primary feedback coming once work is completed. Ideally in PBL classrooms feedback comes throughout the learning process
  • What are the skills of effective facilitation?
    • An effective facilitator knows how to differentiate to the need of the students in their classroom. They know who needs rigor and which students may need more assistance along the way. They know how to wisely create student groups in ways that increase the success of the class.
    • A skilled facilitator also knows when to step in and intervene and when to allow students to work things out. Sometimes the best learning takes place through struggling through and finding solutions on your own.
    • Skilled facilitators also know how to weave 21st century skills into the everyday practice of their classrooms. They don’t teach these as separate skills, but include them in seamlessly.
  • Will the students develop the competencies and skills needed to be successful?
    • In short, yes! At least if I am mindful of the different learning objectives I intend to teach. I feel that all people are naturally curious and want to learn. This want only occurs though if students are engaged and interested. Once students are hooked in though (which at times can be the hardest part depending on the students) you can direct them to what they need, providing instruction as needed, or if appropriate, helping them to find what they need.
    • In addition, through PBL students are learning 21st century skills of communicating with varied audiences, becoming adept at utilizing different technologies, and collaborating with one another. Helping students to master these skills is in my opinion the biggest strength of PBL. If they are not learning these then what good is all the content knowledge in the world going to do them?
  • What changes will you need to make in order to become an effective facilitator in your PBL unit
    • This is a question that I had to think on a bit. But if I have to narrow to a few specific things I would say I need to limit the amount of time that I am speaking to a large group at once. I instead need to focus on working with small groups of students instead on focused work. I want to develop my skill in facilitating class discussions too. With a recent job switch moving back to a brick and mortar classroom I am looking forward to having more vibrant class discussions and will be looking to find ways to get my class actively involved. Finally, I want to create a set of just in time learning guides on a variety of topics for my different courses that I am teaching.

Leave a comment